Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Award Post

sisterhoodworldbloggers

Nonsense & Shenanigans has nominated me for this award so go check out her awesome blog!  She is hilarious and so sweet!

THE GUIDELINES

Thank and link the person who nominated you.
Add the award to your post and site.
Answer 10 questions provided to by the person nominating you.
Provide 10 questions of your own to be answered by those you nominate.
Nominate your bloggers for the award. (AND comment on their blogs to inform them.)

THE Questions (I did not do all 10 because I’m sort of a rule breaker)

If you could change one thing about your country, what would it be?

The name…I would change it to cluster fuck.

What is one thing about your country that makes you unbelievably proud?

Freedom of speech obviously.  Read my blog.  Eek, the government’s like…We should probably do something about that.

Do you remember your dreams? If so, what is the last dream you had that affected you?

Yes, a lot lately for some reason.  I recently had a dream that my roommate, friends, and coworkers threw me a surprise birthday party.  Mid-party they all gave me the cold shoulder and stopped talking so I dramatically said, “Party’s over!  Just go home!”.  The dream made me feel alienated….surprise surprise.  I always have dream hangover too, so the next day I was like all bitchy to my friends thinking they ruined my birthday…which is months away for the record.

If a blogging genie came to you and offered you three blogging-related wishes, what would you wish?

  • I wish I had unlimited inspiration 24/7. Sometimes I fall asleep writing my posts they are so boring.
  • I wish I got more fucking comments. I love meeting new people and hearing what they have to say.
  • I wish that everything I wished for in my blog posts came true. Like…Oh I could use my school loans paid off, better just make a blog post about it.  BAM no more debt!

Do you believe in ghosts? Aliens?

Neither.  Both.  Fuck I don’t know.  I’ve had some creepy/borderline ghost potential occurrences for sure.  The first day I started working at the church, the music started playing from a radio where no one was in the room.  I was like…fuck I need a drink.  Cheers to divine intervention!

Questions for My Nominees:

1. What is your favorite book and why?  (One question at a time is overrated.)

2. Arranged marriages.  Yes or no?

3. Explain in your own words what pension means?  I’m mostly just confused about this and looking for answers in all the wrong places.

4. Do you believe in jinxes?  Like jinx you owe me a coke jinxes…I guess superstition in general.

5. Where do you stand in the whole nature versus nurture debate?

6. Do you believe in fate and why?

7. What is your favorite phrase or saying?

8. Where exactly do you think Waldo is?

9. What is the last song you listened to?

10. How do you feel about breakfast for dinner?  (This is a personal favorite so I will be judging you based on your response.)

Nominees:

1. browneyedgirldotcom

2. I Have a Blog Now!

3. I Prefer Deep Blues and Seafoam Greens

 

8 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. 1. What is your favorite book and why? (One question at a time is overrated.)
    I am not your nominee but I will still answer. Why? Because I’m a pretty big rule breaker myself. Favorite book is “The Intelligent Investor” By Benjamin Graham. Why? The guy is the godfather of investing, and his student–Warren Buffet. The lesson he teaches you as an investor is not refrain from using your emotions. An emotional investor, eventually becomes either a broke investor or a dead one. Both suck terribly

    2. Arranged marriages. Yes or no?
    The way people hop from one relationship to the next today, I honestly lean more in the direction of having them arranged now. This way, you actually get to know your partner. Today, people have sex on date number one and three months later, can’t tell you the person’s favorite dish. It’s an exaggeration of course, but the concept is that we do not get to know one another any longer. However, arranged marriages between a minor and an adult–that is bloody gross. Men/Women who have sex with children should kill themselves. It is bloody disgusting. Yeah, I said it and will not bow down to the PC-nation. Kick rocks.

    3. Explain in your own words what pension means? I’m mostly just confused about this and looking for answers in all the wrong places.
    Pension is a form of creating a lifetime source of income, which used to occur in two ways. Way #1: Defined Benefit Plan. This plan will be payable to you upon retirement, which is usually age 65. This depends on whether you continue to work beyond 65, but the concept is that the money accumulated over the years will be offered to you at your retirement age. This plan is the old way of creating a pension, because the company would base your retirement amount on a formula that takes into consideration, your number of years worked and your salary. You are not contributing to this plan. The company funds your retirement vehicle based on the formula mentioned above. The key is that you specifically, the employee, are not contributing your own money to the plan. Upon retirement, you receive a stream of income over your lifetime. There are ways to set it up, where you receive monthly payments, quarterly, etc. You will be hard pressed to ever find a company who still uses this form of pension.

    Way #2: Defined Contribution Plan. The huge difference here is that you are now using your money to fund the retirement vehicle. It will be a percentage of your salary or specific dollar amount from your paycheck. For instance, 10% every pay period, or $300 per check. Whatever method they use, they will take it and set aside into a vehicle that usually grows tax deferred. This means you will not pay taxes on the money you place into the retirement bucket. There is no taxation while in the specific retirement vehicle. The vehicles are usually mutual funds, which are investments that spread the risk over a collection of different investments. So as opposed to investing your money in one company, bonds or other securities, the damage or risk goes down, since the money is scattered over different companies. This is the general concept behind a mutual fund. The amount you generate upon retirement, is based entirely by the performance of where the money is invested and how much you invest personally, how long they have been invested and what amount the employee matches your contribution. Some companies will add money into your account, if you meet a certain percentage yourself. For instance, they will match me dollar for dollar, if I contribute at least 6% every pay period. A lot of companies no longer give you matching dollars. In other words, you are on your own.

    4. Do you believe in jinxes? Like jinx you owe me a coke jinxes…I guess superstition in general.
    Somewhat

    5. Where do you stand in the whole nature versus nurture debate?
    I believe they both play a role in one’s development. There are things that you are simply born understanding and then there are instances, where the environment helps shape your perspective and development. Eye color, shape of nose, etc…these things are due to genes. Knowing it is wrong to touch the stove because it is hot–that is something you learn.

    6. Do you believe in fate and why?
    I believe in fate. However, I believe that we are unaware what our fate is, so we believe the decisions we make are completely of our own doing without this being part of fate. LOL. Weird, I know.

    7. What is your favorite phrase or saying?
    These nuts. It is part of the silly humor between my friends, but now that I am married, it is something my wife and I use. Me: Darling, what did you say? Her: These nuts!

    8. Where exactly do you think Waldo is?
    In a crowd someplace, hoping we will not discover him. Heck, he may be where all of our supposed dead celebrities are, that people claim are still alive. I see you Tupac.

    9. What is the last song you listened to?
    Tiesto present Allure Feat. Julie Thompson – Somewhere Inside of You. This song is so bloody awesome. I’m a Trance head for life, as is my wife. He actually played it during the Victoria’s Secret fashion year a few years back.

    10. How do you feel about breakfast for dinner? (This is a personal favorite so I will be judging you based on your response.)
    My wife does it often. And she will also have dinner for breakfast. LoL. I cannot recall my past instances of doing this. If if floats your boat, bless you. LOL.

    Like

    1. I think I overestimated my desire to learn about pension haha. You and your wife continue to impress me with every way you describe the relationship. I have a crush on a couple. I’m also under the persuasion that tupac is alive and well. Thanks for answering! I’ve got research to do on books, music, and pension for sure!

      Like

  2. I totally would have made you a nominee if it wasn’t the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers award. I didn’t know how you felt about being part of a sisterhood 😉 but fuck I’m down with this comment! Plus it means you’re still visiting my blog so hey! There’s that! I’m about to read all your answers and I’m excited!

    Like

Say what?!

